Summary
PROGRIT moved to consolidated accounting from 3Q of FY8/2026 and has guided to full-year consolidated revenue of JPY 7,600M and recurring profit of JPY 1,440M. Nine-month recurring profit stood at 73.6% of the full-year plan, so the key question is whether 4Q (June–August 2026) delivers the required incremental contribution. 4Q is also the first quarter in which the P&L of wholly owned subsidiary ENGLISH COMPANY is consolidated into the income statement. Investors should therefore examine the subsidiary's earnings contribution, the goodwill amortization burden, and the finalization of the purchase price allocation (PPA), which remains provisional. Additional full-year-specific issues include the contract liability balance, which tracks the build-up of subscription services such as Shadoten and Spiful, as well as capital policy and the year-end dividend following the July share buyback.
Key Points for Next Quarter
| Key Points & Focus | Implications |
|---|---|
Delivery Against Full-Year PlanFull-year consolidated recurring profit versus company guidance | 9M recurring profit of JPY 1,060M represents 73.6% of the JPY 1,440M full-year plan. Whether the implied JPY 380M of standalone 4Q profit (our estimate) is delivered is the starting point for valuation. |
M&A ContributionConsolidation period and earnings contribution from ENGLISH COMPANY | The 9M figures consolidated the balance sheet only, with no P&L contribution. The full-year results will include the subsidiary's revenue and profit for the first time, a key swing factor for achieving the JPY 7,600M revenue plan. |
Goodwill / PPAStart of amortization on JPY 294.301M of goodwill and finalization of the purchase price allocation | Straight-line amortization over 11 years implies roughly JPY 27M per year (our estimate). PPA finalization could shift the goodwill balance and amortization charge, affecting the operating income level. |
Subscription BaseContract liability balance and user trends across subscription services | Contract liabilities stood at JPY 1,444.966M at end-3Q. As a deferred-revenue-like balance, its movement funds future revenue recognition and informs the credibility of FY8/2027 guidance. |
Profitability / Shareholder ReturnsOPM trajectory, year-end dividend, and shareholder return policy after the buyback | 9M OPM was 20.5% (our estimate). Watch whether the JPY 11.00 year-end dividend forecast (JPY 22.00 annual) is maintained, and the stance on returns following the July buyback. |
Key Issues from Previous Results (FY8/2026 3Q)
9M results were revenue of JPY 5,141M, operating income of JPY 1,053M, recurring profit of JPY 1,060M, and net income attributable to owners of parent of JPY 726M. Because consolidated statements were prepared for the first time this fiscal year, YoY comparisons were not disclosed in the earnings release. However, full-year consolidated guidance (revenue JPY 7,600M, recurring profit JPY 1,440M) was presented alongside, and 4Q will be the first consolidated quarter including ENGLISH COMPANY's P&L. Growth in the core coaching business, the build-up of the subscription base, and M&A integration costs are the three variables that will determine the full-year outcome.
1. Required 4Q Standalone Contribution to Meet Full-Year Consolidated Guidance
- Previous Quarter: 9M revenue of JPY 5,141M and recurring profit of JPY 1,060M. Full-year guidance calls for revenue of JPY 7,600M, recurring profit of JPY 1,440M, net income attributable to owners of parent of JPY 980M, and EPS of JPY 78.33.
- This Quarter's Check: Backing out guidance, standalone 4Q implies revenue of JPY 2,459M, operating income of JPY 396M, and recurring profit of JPY 380M (all our estimates). Assess whether these levels are met, and decompose any shortfall or upside.
- Metrics to Watch: Achievement rate against the JPY 7,600M revenue plan and the JPY 1,440M recurring profit plan, plus EPS versus the JPY 78.33 plan.
2. P&L Contribution from the Consolidation of ENGLISH COMPANY
- Previous Quarter: PROGRIT acquired all shares of StudyHacker (now ENGLISH COMPANY) on April 28, 2026, with a deemed acquisition date of March 31, 2026. The 9M accounts consolidated the balance sheet only, with no P&L contribution.
- This Quarter's Check: The full-year results will include the subsidiary's P&L for the first time. Confirm the period of earnings included in the consolidated income statement and the contribution to revenue and profit. Acquisition-related costs, including advisory fees, have been disclosed at JPY 7.549M.
- Metrics to Watch: The gap between full-year revenue and 9M revenue of JPY 5,141M, and the earnings inclusion period noted in the disclosure on the change in scope of consolidation.
3. Impact of Goodwill Amortization and PPA Finalization
- Previous Quarter: Goodwill of JPY 294.301M was recognized, to be amortized on a straight-line basis over 11 years. The purchase price allocation remains provisional, with fair value measurement of identifiable assets and liabilities incomplete.
- This Quarter's Check: Confirm when goodwill amortization begins, the full-year charge, and whether PPA finalization revises the goodwill balance or results in recognition of intangible assets. Annual amortization is roughly JPY 27M (our estimate).
- Metrics to Watch: Goodwill amortization included in full-year SG&A, the period-end goodwill balance, and disclosure on PPA finalization in the business combination notes.
4. Build-Up of the Subscription Base and Contract Liabilities
- Previous Quarter: Management noted that Shadoten's average retention period lengthened with solid growth in paying users, Spiful also expanded its user base, and Deartalk remains in the feature improvement and new development phase. Contract liabilities stood at JPY 1,444,966 thousand at end-3Q.
- This Quarter's Check: Review the period-end contract liability balance and management commentary on user counts and retention periods across subscription services. Movement in the balance is a potential leading indicator of next-year revenue.
- Metrics to Watch: Change in period-end contract liabilities from JPY 1,444.966M at end-3Q, and the trend in paying users disclosed in the results presentation.
5. Profitability, Cost Structure, and Shareholder Returns
- Previous Quarter: 9M gross profit margin of 75.1% and OPM of 20.5% (both our estimates). An interim dividend of JPY 11.00 has been paid, with the year-end dividend forecast maintained at JPY 11.00 for an annual JPY 22.00 (versus JPY 19.00 in the prior year).
- This Quarter's Check: Assess where full-year OPM lands relative to the 19.1% implied by guidance (our estimate), and examine SG&A including advertising spend as well as integration-related costs. Also review the breakdown of extraordinary items and income taxes.
- Metrics to Watch: Full-year OPM, SG&A-to-revenue ratio, confirmation of the JPY 11.00 year-end dividend, and the period-end treasury share count and EPS impact following the July 2026 buyback.
Key Timely Disclosures During the Period and Post Period-End
- 2026/09/30PROGRIT launches "PROGRIT Points," a common points program spanning its services – A measure to strengthen the funnel from free apps to paid services; the P&L impact will only emerge from FY8/2027. We will look for commentary on the initiative's positioning and the scale of investment at the full-year results.
- 2026/09/07PROGRIT marks its 10th anniversary; cumulative paying users surpass 100,000 – Beyond disclosing cumulative paying users as a scale KPI, the company flagged M&A, strengthening the corporate business, and service integration as focus areas. Check for consistency with the medium-term strategy outlined at the full-year results.
- 2026/07/10Notice regarding results and completion of the share buyback via off-auction own share repurchase trading (ToSTNeT-3) and change in major shareholders – Capital policy executed in 4Q (June–August 2026), affecting period-end treasury shares, equity, and EPS. To be reviewed alongside the shift in the shareholder register at the full-year results.
Previous Quarter Results (FY8/2026 3Q Actual)
PROGRIT is a single-segment English coaching company, anchored by its "PROGRIT" English coaching service and complemented by subscription offerings "Shadoten" and "Spiful" plus AI conversation app "Deartalk." In April 2026 it acquired StudyHacker (now ENGLISH COMPANY), operator of ENGLISH COMPANY, as a wholly owned subsidiary and moved to a group management structure. 9M revenue was JPY 5,141M with recurring profit of JPY 1,060M, representing 73.6% progress against the concurrently disclosed full-year consolidated plan (recurring profit JPY 1,440M). Note that 9M earnings do not include any contribution from ENGLISH COMPANY.
| Item | Amount | YoY | vs. Company Plan | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | JPY 5,141M | +21.6% | 67.6% progress | Growth in core coaching and subscription services. Prior-year period is parent-only, current period is consolidated (our estimate) |
| Operating Income | JPY 1,053M | +0.8% | 72.7% progress | Gross profit margin 75.1%, OPM 20.5% (our estimates) |
| Recurring Profit | JPY 1,060M | +1.1% | 73.6% progress | Non-operating income JPY 8M, non-operating expenses JPY 2M |
| Net Income Attributable to Owners of Parent Company | JPY 726M | -5.2% | 74.1% progress | Extraordinary losses limited to JPY 0.046M loss on disposal of fixed assets |
| EPS | JPY 58.37 | -4.7% | 74.5% progress | Full-year EPS plan of JPY 78.33. Diluted EPS JPY 57.78 |
YoY figures are not disclosed in the earnings release due to the shift to consolidated reporting. The YoY figures above are our estimates based on comparison with 9M FY8/2025 (parent-only); note the difference in reporting basis.
Progress Against Full-Year Plan (Recurring Profit Basis): 73.6% (prior-year period: n/a; the prior year was parent-only, so comparison with this plan is not possible. For reference, prior-year 9M recurring profit of JPY 1,048M equated to 86.8% of prior-year full-year actual of JPY 1,207M, our estimate)
ENVALITH, INC. ("ENVALITH") provides exclusive research coverage services to domestic and international institutional investors, as well as domestic individual investors, with the objective of contributing to the development of global and Japanese capital markets by providing information necessary for considering investments in Japanese listed companies.
- Purpose and Disclaimer Regarding Investment Decisions
This report has been prepared solely for informational purposes and does not constitute a solicitation to acquire, sell, or hold securities or any other financial products. Furthermore, this report does not constitute specific investment, financial, or tax advice. Any opinions, judgments, or recommendations contained herein are not intended to induce investment activities. Please be advised that all investment decisions must be made based on the investor's own responsibility and judgment, and ENVALITH and subject company shall not be involved in any such investment decisions.
- Information Sources, Accuracy, and Disclaimer of Warranty
This report has been prepared based on a formal request from the subject company, utilizing information provided by and interviews conducted with said company. By using this report, you are deemed to have agreed to the following: 1. Information Sources: This report is prepared on the assumption that the publicly available information and information disclosed by the subject company and provided during interviews is true and reliable. ENVALITH has not independently verified or validated the veracity of such information. 2. Accuracy: The interpretations, analyses, and hypotheses or conclusions based thereon contained in this report are independently derived by ENVALITH using its own perspectives and analytical methods based on the information mentioned in the preceding paragraph. 3. Disclaimer of Warranty: In the event that there are errors or omissions in the information disclosed by the subject company, ENVALITH and subject company shall not be held liable for any inaccuracies in this report resulting therefrom. ENVALITH and subject company make no warranties, whether express or implied, regarding the accuracy, safety, validity, completeness, or any other aspect of this report, nor regarding the past or future performance of the subject company.
- Limitation of Liability
ENVALITH and subject company shall not be liable for any costs, damages, or losses (including direct, indirect, incidental, consequential, or punitive damages) arising from the use of this report or the information obtained therefrom. Users of this report acknowledge and agree that such use is at their own risk.
- Potential Conflicts of Interest
ENVALITH may have, or may have in the future, business relationships with the subject company. Accordingly, investors should be aware that conflicts of interest may exist that could affect the objectivity of this report.
- No Obligation to Change or Update Content
The contents and opinions in this report, as well as the information upon which it is based, are current as of the date of preparation and are subject to change without notice. Please be advised that ENVALITH is under no obligation to update the contents of this report, and investors must verify the timeliness of the information on their own.
- Governing Language
This report is prepared in Japanese, English, and Chinese. In the event of any discrepancy or difference in interpretation between the language versions, the Japanese version shall be treated as the original and shall prevail.
- Copyright
All rights (including copyrights) relating to this report belong to ENVALITH. Any reproduction, redistribution, or other use of all or part of this report without the prior written permission of ENVALITH is strictly prohibited.
- Use for Other Investment Products
Except where ENVALITH has provided prior written approval, the use of this report and the trademarks or trade names of ENVALITH or the subject company in connection with the information distribution, transaction, sales promotion, or advertising of any investment products (including derivatives, structured products, investment trusts, or investment assets whose price, return, or performance is based on or linked to this report) is strictly prohibited.

